ecomorine Memorandum

DATE: June 11th, 2015

TO: Chairman and Members of the Board

FROM: Kevin H. Roche, CEO/General Manager

SUBJECT: Agenda for the June 18th, 2015 Annual Meeting @ 11:30 AM

- 1. Welcome: Jim Gailey, Chairman of the Board
- 2. Approval of the April 16th, 2015 Board Meeting Minutes (Attachment A)
- 3. Call for Committee Reports
 - Audit Committee Report Gary Foster, Chair
 - > Finance Committee Report Matthew Frank, Chair
 - Recycling Committee Report Erik Street, Chair
 - ➢ Nominating Committee Report − Dave Morton, Chair
- 4. Vote on Officers and Committee Appointments (Attachment B)
- 5. Remarks from Kevin Roche, CEO

6. GUEST SPEAKER – Sara Bixby, Deputy Executive Director, Solid Waste Association North America (SWANA)

- 7. Recognition of members who are leaving the Board:
 - ➢ Gary Foster Town of Gray
 - Susan McGinty Town of Cumberland
- 8. Closing Remarks and Invitation to Tour Facilities

Printed on 100% post-consumer recycled paper.

6/12/2015 2:25 PM

ecomaine

Attachment A

Memorandum

DATE:	June 11 th , 2015
TO:	Chairman and Members of the Board
FROM:	Kevin H. Roche, CEO/General Manager
SUBJECT:	Minutes of the Board of Directors Meeting – April 16th, 2015

There was an **ecomaine Board of Directors Meeting** held on the date noted above. The meeting was called to order by Troy Moon, Vice Chair.

Item #1: Minutes:

Richard Brobst motioned to accept the minutes as written. The motion was seconded by Maxine Beecher. All in favor.

Item # 2: Presentation: Kevin Joyce, Cumberland County Sheriff

Kevin Joyce gave a brief review of the prescription drug collection program. He discussed the state wide collection program scheduled for April. The Sheriff expressed the need for community support and asked for **ecomaine's** help in the incineration of the medications, including waving the fees.

Troy Moon motioned to wave the fee for this prescription drug take back event. The motion was seconded by Linda Boudreau. All in favor.

Item # 3: Presentation: Marc Cone & Dan Twomey - Bureau of Air Quality DEP

Marc Cone and Dan Twomey provided an overview of the positive work the DEP and **ecomaine** have accomplished. They discussed **ecomaine's** participation in two monitoring events in April, 2013 & October, 2014. Both events had favorable results that confirmed **ecomaine's** ability to process the collected drugs at the WTE facility. DEP will continue working closely with **ecomaine** on air quality issues.

Item #4: Audit Committee Report:

Gary Foster reported out on the work by the Audit Committee.

The next Audit Committee Meeting will be in September of 2015 which will include a review of the draft FY 15 Audit Report.

Item # 5: Finance Committee Report:

Matthew Frank reported that the Finance Committee met April 2nd, 2015, and he summarized the work the committee is doing.

- The Finance Committee recommended to the board that they approve the FY 16 Budget as presented by staff with the following modification:
 - Following our Cash Reserve and Investment Policy, staff will move \$850,000 into the Discretionary Landfill Reserve Account.

With this one modification, Dave Cole made a motion to approve the FY 16 Budget and the motion was seconded by Matthew Frank. All in favor.

The next Finance Committee is scheduled for May 21^{st,} 2015 with a plan for a status update from HM Payson, our Investment Advisor.

Item # 6: Recycling Committee Report:

Erik Street reported that the Recycling Committee last met on February 26th, 2015. He summarized the work of the Recycling Committee is doing.

The next Recycling Committee is scheduled for April 30th, 2015.

Item #7: Manager's Report:

Kevin Roche reported out to the board on the following:

- Closure of the two acquired properties by ecomaine
- Review of current financials for FY 15 in comparison to last year
- Metals mining summary
- Outage updates
- Update on current legislation

Len Van Gassbek motioned to adjourn the meeting and the motion was seconded by Gary Foster. All in favor.

Present:

Dennis Abbott, Maxine Beecher, Alan Bradstreet, Richard Brobst, Mike Bobinsky, Linda Boudreau, Dave Cole, Dennis Doughty, Gary Foster, Matthew Frank, Jim Gailey, Caleb Hemphill, Suzanne Knight, Susan McGinty, Troy Moon, Rod Regier, Bill Shane, Mike Shaw, Erik Street & Len Van Gaasbeek

Staff:

Arthur Birt, Anne Hewes, Denise Mungen, Kevin Roche & Kevin Trytek

ecomaine

COMMITTEES FOR APPROVAL FY 2015-2016

Ţ.	Officers	& Members of the Executive Committee	and Server
•	Jim Gailey, Chairman		<u>Term Exp.</u> 06/30/2016
•	Troy Moon, Vice Chairma	n	06/30/2016
•	Matthew Frank, Treasurer		06/30/2016
٠	Michael Shaw, Secretary		06/30/2016
•	Michael McGovern, Past C	Chairman	06/30/2016
٠	Matthew Frank	District 1 - Bridgton, Casco, Gray and Harrison (Dave Morton – Alternate)	06/30/2016
•	George P. Sutton	District 2 - Hollis, Limington, Lyman & Waterboro	06/30/2018
•	Anthony Plante	District 3 - Gorham & Windham (Dave Cole – Alternate)	06/30/2018
•	Erik Street	<u>District 3</u> – Cumberland, Freeport North Yarmouth, Pownal & Yarmouth (Richard Brobst – Alternate)	06/30/2018
٠	Caleb Hemphill	District 5 - Falmouth & Cape Elizabeth	06/30/2017
٠	Michael Bobinsky	Portland	06/30/2018
•	Edward Suslovic	Portland	06/30/2018
٠	Shawn Babine	Scarborough	06/30/2018
•	Linda Boudreau	South Portland	06/30/2018

Committees

Audit Committee	Finance Committee	Recycling & Outreach
Chair – Michael Shaw	Chair – Matthew Frank	Chair – Erik Street
Linda Boudreau	Dennis Abbott	Maxine Beecher
Michael Bobinsky	Michael Bobinsky	Susan Bernier
David Morton	David Cole	Alan Bradstreet
	Len Van Gaasbeek	Richard Brobst
	Jim Gailey	Dennis Doughty
	Suzanne Knight	Caleb Hemphill
	Troy Moon	Maureen McDevitt
	Anthony Plante	Troy Moon
	Rodney Regier	Edward Suslovic
	William Shane	Travis Wagner
	Mike Shaw	