

Memorandum

SUBJECT:	Agenda – Full Board of Directors Meeting
FROM:	Kevin H. Roche, CEO/General Manager
TO:	Chairman and Members of the Board
DATE:	January 24, 2024

There was an **ecomaine** Board of Directors Meeting held on **January 18, 2024.** The meeting was called to order by Chairman Bill Shane.

<u>Item 1</u>: Approval of the Minutes

Terry Deering motioned to approve the minutes from the December 14, 2023. The motion was second by Tony Ward. All in favor.

Item 2: Outreach & Recycling Committee Report – Caleb Hemphill, Chair

Caleb Hemphill reported that the committee last met on November 9, 2023, and reported out to the Full Board at the November 16, 2023, meeting.

ecomaine has recruited Jamie Garvin as the new Director of Communication & Public Relations. He will start on January 29, 2024.

Through FY 24, staff has reached 11,385 people through in-person outreach.

ecomaine staff is collaborating with schools on obtaining progress reports for the school waste diversion grant program.

Tagging Education Program planning has begun, staff plan to implement the program in the spring with a start date of Aprill 8th, 2024.

In final, we received eight **eco-Excellence** nominations, the deadline for submissions was January 17th, 2024. The committee will review the nominations, at the February 8, 2024, meeting.

Item 3: Finance & Audit Committee Report – Anne Bilodeau, Chair

Anne Bilodeau reported that the committee met prior to today's meeting of the board and provided a recap of the significant items:

Anne reported that the committee had an opportunity to gather information on the potential purchase of the parcel of property abutting our landfill.

There was also an opportunity for the committee to ask additional questions on the bonding resolution and Greg L'Heureux (staff) provided an in-depth overview of year-to-date financials.

The next Finance & Audit committee meeting will be held on March 28, 2024 on the FY 25 Budget all are welcome and encouraged to attend.

Item 4: Bonding Resolution

Kevin began discussions with the facility assessment that was completed last year that provided guidance on what the next 20 years would look like for the **ecomaine** facilities. He discussed the review of the 5-year plan with the board reflecting on the Turbine Outage and the long-term lease of the Blueberry Road property in September 2023. He outlined the necessary facility updates and reviewed projects that will be included in the bonding resolution.

Terry Deering motioned to approve the Bonding Resolution as presented. Tony Ward seconded the motion.

Roll Call: Dennis Abbott, Anne Bilodeau, Linda Boudreau, Dave Durrell, Matthew Frank, Jim Gailey, Caleb Hemphill, Jarrod Maxfield, Jessica Maloy, Troy Moon, Robert Peabody, Rod Regier, Tim Reiniger, Nate Rudy, Mike Shaw & Rob Wood. Vote – 94.83% – Approved.

Westbrook Property

Anne Bilodeau motioned to approve the Resolution on the Sale of the Westbrook Property as presented with an amendment reflecting Jim Gailey's action for staff to reflect that the terms and condition of the sale of the parcel has a clear title. Tony Ward seconded motion. All in favor.

<u>Item 5:</u> Presentation: Dustin Ward, President & Founder "It is Time" Diversity Equity & Inclusion

Dustin Ward provided a recap on the session from December 15, 2024. He talked about creating culture shifts for DEI, and what the board can do to enhance DEI. Use of vocabulary and its impacts. There was an exercise for the board and a discussion. that followed. He shared his work with Brunswick School Systems in creating a DEI statement, and in final what DEI will look like for ecomaine in the next few years. There was a brief discussion.

Financial Report – Kevin Roche (Staff) provided and abbreviated review of the summary of finances.

Adjourn: Linda Cohen motioned to adjourn. The motion was second by Caleb Hemphill. All in favor.

Present:

Dennis Abbott, Anne Bilodeau, Linda Boudreau, Bob Burns, Carrie Castleman-Ross, Patrick Christian, Linda Cohen, Donald Cushing Jr., Terry Deering, Dave Durrell, Matthew Frank, Jim Gailey, Jeremy Gabielson, Caleb Hemphill, Doug Howard, Steve Kelley, Mike Murray, Cass Newell, Rod Regier, Bill Shane, Erik Street, Amber Swett, Tony Ward & Rob Wood

Guest:

Dustin Ward

Staff:

Wei Huang, Greg L'Heureux, Denise Mungen, Kevin Roche & Kevin Trytek