2019 eco-Excellence Award Winners

Educators in Falmouth and South Portland, City of Sanford Staff named among 2019 ecomaine eco-Excellence Awardees

A total of 16 Individuals, Nonprofit Organizations, and Businesses received awards for their commitment to sustainability and community throughout 2018

PORTLAND, MAINE – (February 18, 2019)  Falmouth High School’s Gary Glick, South Portland High School’s Tania Ferrante, and City of Sanford staff highlight the 2019 ecomaine eco-Excellence Awards, announced this week.  Citing the achievements of 16 individuals, organizations, and businesses – and one municipality – ecomaine’s Board recognized outstanding efforts in sustainability, waste management, and “green living” through the 2019 eco-Excellence Awards, to be handed out at a ceremony at ecomaine on March 26, 2019.

“Increasing public awareness of sustainability is central to ecomaine’s mission,” said CEO Kevin Roche.  “In this amazing group of eco-Excellence Award winners, ecomaine is pleased to recognize efforts to bring this mission directly into our communities.  We look forward to celebrating with the 2019 awardees on March 26.”

Added ecomaine Outreach & Recycling Committee Chair, Caleb Hemphill, “The outstanding work that these nominees have put in – during 2018, but in many cases for many years – produce tangible results for ecomaine’s member municipalities, leading to greater sustainability, increased public involvement, and the spread of best practices for anyone in Maine to follow.”

The following awardees will be recognized at a special luncheon at ecomaine on Tuesday, March 26, 2019.

Individual Lifetime Achievement eco-Excellence Award: Gary Glick, Falmouth High School

Overall Individual eco-Excellence Award: Tania Ferrante, South Portland High School

Individual Award Winners:
Jennifer Polley, Chelsea
Patty Distasio, Gray
Gene Pierotti, Portland (Riverside Golf Course)
Meredith Banker, Scarborough
Michael Caudle, South Portland
Paul Mathieu, Hiram (Sacopee Valley High School)
Dennis Brown, Windham
Tom Pitman & students, Yarmouth (Yarmouth High School)
Non-Profit Award Winners:
Friends of Scarborough Marsh, Scarborough
Friends School of Portland, Cumberland
Business Award Winners:
Chase Street Soap Company, Scarborough
OutsideIn Maine, Cape Elizabeth
Mainely Worm Bins, Gorham

Municipal Award Winner:
City of Sanford & Sanford Public Works (Matt Hill & Kayla LeBrun), Sanford

About ecomaine and the eco-Excellence Awards
ecomaine, the nonprofit, recycling and waste-to-energy operation that serves a third of the state’s population, is located in Portland, Maine. The eco-Excellence Awards is an annual program organized by ecomaine to recognize businesses, schools, or individuals in any of ecomaine’s 73 member communities. Winners are selected based on the effectiveness, increased awareness, community impact, and ease of replication of their sustainability programs or initiatives.