2021 eco-Excellence Award nominations

Portland-based recycling and waste manager to celebrate leaders in sustainability from across Maine

ecomaine, Maine’s leader in single-sort recycling and sustainable waste management, opens its call for nominations for the 2021 eco-Excellence Awards. The Awards are designed to recognize and celebrate champions in Maine who are focused on recycling and waste diversion, and who are leading their communities toward greater models of sustainability.

As Maine’s pioneer of single-sort recycling and provider of waste-to-energy solutions, ecomaine is pleased to announce that nominees may live or work in any of its member communities, and may be nominated through Sunday, January 31, 2021.

Caleb Hemphill, Chair of ecomaine’s Outreach & Recycling Committee said, “There are many ways that we can all be leaders in sustainability, whether it’s recycling, composting, sustainable living, or raising awareness of these key issues.  That’s even true during a pandemic, and we look forward to recognizing the continued good work of Maine’s leaders.”

Nominees must be located in or serve one of 70 ecomaine communities.  Nominees can be businesses, schools, nonprofits, or individuals and will be selected based on the effectiveness, increased awareness, community impact, and ease of replication of their sustainability programs or initiatives.  Submissions will be judged by ecomaine’s Outreach & Recycling Committee and awarded on February 11, 2021

Last March, 2020’s eco-Excellence Awards were given to:

  • Amelia Meier (Saco, Individual Overall)
  • Chris Petitpierre (Gorham, Individual Overall)
  • GoGo Refill (South Portland, Business Overall)
  • King Middle School (Portland, Non-Profit Overall)
  • Mei Strout, Laura Morris, Louisa Longshore, & Gabrielle Morrell (Baxter Academy, Portland)
  • Boys & Girls Club of Southern Maine South Portland Clubhouse Torch Club (South Portland)
  • Camp Ketcha (Scarborough)
  • David “Chids” Chidsey (Gorham)
  • Garbo-Kane, LLC (Fred Garbo & Shawn Kane, Otisfield)
  • Jake Cockrell (Readfield)
  • Kaplan Thompson Architects (Portland)
  • Katherine Gross (Scarborough)
  • Kidz Go Eco (Saco)
  • Rachel Lyn Rumson (Gray)
  • Tom Long (Portland)
  • Veterinary & Rehab Clinic of Cape Elizabeth (Cape Elizabeth)
  • WormMainea (Scarborough)